Baking · Bread · Snacks

Double Glazed Pumpkin Scones

At MOPS on Thursday, my friend Bethany brought awesome pumpkin scones. They got me in the mood to bake some myself. Now, my normal scones are amazing and I love the recipe. I’ve just never been super comfortable trying to alter it to a pumpkin scone recipe because there are already so many wet ingredients in it – the primary one being sour cream – which can’t be substituted out because of the unique reaction it has with the baking soda. Once I’d tossed the idea of altering my own recipe, I got a lot more comfortable with just finding the most delicious pumpkin scone recipe I could. This is it. The double glaze sold me right away. I only altered the recipe slightly, using cream instead of the original half-and-half called for (and that’s just because I had one and not the other). The scones themselves are not very sweet at all – I left a couple unglazed for my sweets-hating hubby. They are also quite lightly spiced. I’ll probably add some allspice and or pumpkin pie spice to the next batch. Which, I’ll be making very soon I’m sure. They are moist, light and delicious. Just like a scone should be.

 

Double Glazed Pumpkin Scone

 

 

Double Glazed Pumpkin Scones (from The Brown Eyed Baker)

2 cups all-purpose flour
7 Tablespoons granulated sugar
1 Tablespoon baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon
½ teaspoon ground nutmeg
¼ teaspoon ground cloves
¼ teaspoon ground ginger
6 Tablespoons cold butter
½ cup canned pumpkin
3 Tablespoons heavy cream
1 large egg

For the Powdered Sugar Glaze:
1 cup plus 1 Tablespoon powdered sugar
2 Tablespoons milk

For the Spiced Glaze:
1 cup plus 3 Tablespoons powdered sugar
2 Tablespoons milk
¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 pinch ground ginger
1 pinch ground cloves

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper; set aside.

2. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger in a large bowl. Use a fork to cut the butter into the dry ingredients until mixture is crumbly and no chunks of butter are obvious; set aside.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, half-and-half and egg. Fold wet ingredients into dry ingredients, and form the dough into a ball. Pat out dough onto a lightly floured surface and form it into a 1-inch thick rectangle about 3 times as long as wide. Use a large knife or a pizza cutter to slice the dough twice through the width, making three equal portions. Cut each of the portions in an X pattern (four pieces) so you end up with 12 triangular slices of dough. Place on prepared baking sheet. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until light brown. Place on wire rack to cool.

4. To make the powdered sugar glaze, mix the powdered sugar and milk together until smooth. When scones are cool, use a brush to spread plain glaze over the top of each scone.

5. To make the spiced glaze, while the powdered sugar glaze is firming, combine all of the ingredients for the spiced glaze. Drizzle over each scone and allow the icing to dry before serving (about an hour).

5 thoughts on “Double Glazed Pumpkin Scones

Leave a comment