Baking · Desserts

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles

The only time I’ve ever cared about the raw eggs in cookie dough was when I was pregnant. Honestly, I figured if I got sick eating something so delicious it would be worth it. Until I was growing another human that is. Those months were torture. The things we do for our children. If I had known about these cookie dough truffles back then, I’m sure I would have gained about 100 pounds with each pregnancy. Now that the little munchkins are hovering around mixing bowls waiting to lick the batter/spoon/bowl/anything with dough clinging to it, I find that I’m mildly guilt ridden at the idea I could make them sick. Nevermind that I never once felt ill after “helping” my mom with cookies as a kid. Chalk it up to societal pressure. Am I the only one who feels it?

Finally, I found an answer. These delightful little bites hold all the perfect flavor of chocolate chip cookie dough and no eggs. Oh sweet joy! And for those of you who love cookie dough ice cream, just freeze smaller balls and drop them into some plain vanilla — ah-mazing.

We start with a basic cookie dough, but instead of eggs, use a little milk to give it the right consistency. And, since we’re making small truffle sized treats, use mini chocolate chips instead of the full size version. Cover and chill the dough about an hour. Yes, you will want to just eat it immediately. I can’t give you any tips on how not to. A spoonful or two may have found its way into my gullet.

Then we roll the dough into bite sized balls and pop it into the freezer to chill up a little more.

Finally, a little dunk in some chocolate to contain all that sweet dough goodness inside a decadent shell. I’m a fan of the dip, scoop, tap, swoosh method. You’ll need a bowl of melted chocolate, some waxed paper, two forks and your chilled dough balls.

Dip in chocolate.

Scoop it up with a fork.

Tap off the excess and swoosh it off the fork (with another fork) onto the wax paper to firm up.

Then, drizzle with a little melted chocolate for that truly professional look.

Perfection.

And, absolutely scrumptious.

Print Recipe for Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles
from Eat. Drink. Smile.

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 cup (2 sticks) butter, room temperature
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup milk
1 cup mini semi-sweet chocolate chips

14 oz semi sweet or milk chocolate chips
1 T shortening

Directions:

Beat butter and sugars in large bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy. Add milk and vanilla. Stir in flour, baking soda and salt and mix on low speed (or stir by hand) until incorporated. Stir in chocolate chips.

Cover and chill dough for 1 hour.

When dough is firm enough to handle, form dough into 1″ balls and arrange on a baking sheet lined with waxed paper. Place sheets in freezer and let chill for 30 minutes.

Melt chocolate and shortening in microwave until smooth. Using forks as a dipping tool, dip cookie balls into chocolate to cover. Tap on side of pan to remove any excess coating, and return to waxed paper-lined baking sheets. Chill until set. Store, chilled, in an airtight container for up to 1 week.

15 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles

  1. Ok I thought so but wasn’t sure, also I am in middle of making them and I am having trouble getting dough to form into balls. I have added flour and still is thin also I tried putting it in freezer too and still having hard time

    1. I’m sorry you’re having difficulties. I didn’t have any trouble with the consistency of mine. Hmmmm. Is it super hot where you are?

      1. It may have been alittle warm in my kitchen. I ended up adding eggs and making a cookie cake. Lol maybe next time. Have homecoming at church next Sunday wanna take something new for me. Will try it again next Friday or Saturday.

      2. Yeah, I brought this pressed into a pan instead of made into balls on the 4th of July and it was too soft after being out for about 20 minutes. So, if it’s hot, it’s a trick to keep it cold enough if not in the fridge.

Leave a comment